Poets of Color Mini-Challenge

So for National Poetry Month, I’ve been reading heaps of poetry, and for National Poetry Writing Month, I’ve been writing heaps of poetry. Back in ye olde days of undergrad, I majored in writing poetry, so it’s been nice to re-prioritize this vital part of who I am.

Right now, I’m reading Gwendolyn Brooks’ Annie Allen and Sherman Alexie’s The Business of Fancydancing. Stylistically, the two books could not be more different. Brooks uses tightly controlled lines and end rhymes; Alexie moves between prose poems and free verse. Both books are full of exquisitely crafted poems, keen observations on being human and the resulting joys and pains, and dry humor in the face of absurdity.

In response to the POC Reading Challenge’s Poets of Color Mini-Challenge, I think I’ll post a list of some of my favorite poets of color, and link to a bit about them and/or some of their work. Please feel free to add your favorites in the comments!

Sherman Alexie

Gwendolyn Brooks

Timothy Liu

Suji Kwock Kim

Kevin Young

Janice Harrington

Lucille Clifton

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katy
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 08:31:09

    Nice list! I don’t normally read much poetry, but I’ve been reading more this month than in a long time. Thanks for participating in the mini-challenge! :)

    Reply

    • Jessica Neiweem
      Apr 27, 2010 @ 14:51:40

      Quite welcome, Katy! Congrats on reading more poetry than usual. I read quite a lot of it, so if you run out of suggestions at some point, feel free to ask for more :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

