Challenges: What I’ll Be Reading

Alright! Here are the books that I am planning to tackle for the GLBT and POC  Reading Challenges. Please feel free to suggest alternates–there’s always room on the to-read list! I researched these titles before selecting them, but if I’ve chosen something epically stupid (“um, Jess, that book’s neither by nor about a GLBT person… just sayin'”) then please call me out and I’ll try again.

GLBT Challenge (Rainbow Level, 12 books)
Hard Love, Ellen Wittlinger
Crash Into Me, Albert Borris
Dramarama, E. Lockhart
Almost Perfect, Brian Katcher
The Suicide Year, Lena Prodan
The Sweet In-Between, Sheri Reynolds
Luna, Julie Anne Peters
Debbie Harry Sings In French, Meagan Brothers
Parrotfish, Ellen Wittlinger
Someday This Pain Will Be Useful To You, Peter Cameron
Punkzilla, Adam Rapp
Freak Show, James St. James

POC Challenge (Level 4, 15 books)
Magic or Madness, Justine Larbalestier
Mexican WhiteBoy, Matt de la Peña
Hot, Sour, Salty, Sweet, Sherri L. Smith
After Tupac & D Foster, Jacqueline Woodson
The Brothers Torres, Coert Voorhees
Hard Love, Ellen Wittlinger
Dramarama, E. Lockhart
Crash Into Me, Albert Borris
Tyrell, Coe Booth
Suckerpunch, David Hernandez
Dark Dude, Oscar Hijuelos
Does My Head Look Big In This?, Randa Abdel-Fattah
Wait For Me, An Na
Esperanza Rising, Pam Muñoz Ryan
Becoming Billie Holiday, Carole Boston Weatherford

Let the reading begin!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Ari
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 19:32:40

    Oooh awesome challenges! I’m so happy you’re participating in the POC reading challenge and the GLBT challenge. Is Crash into Me about a POC? It sounds really good (a suicide pact, whoa!), I know one mc is Asian so I’ll try to review it but do you know if there are any other poc characters?

    I loved Does My Head Look Big in This? It was hysterical! I didn’t really like Tyrell so I’ll be eager to see your review.

    Thank you for stopping by Reading in Color and sharing your thoughts on the bloomsbury repeated cover failures and for emailing Bloomsbury, you really helped make a difference =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

